PictureFellie, or Ofelia.
Alright.

I guess, first off, thanks for reading this and welcome as well to this new, shiny blog that I hope I will conduct in a safe and educational way. The dog on the picture here is Fellie, one of my rescue dogs that I took in. You'll be seeing her a lot as far as pictures goes and right now she's living a full and wonderful life in her forever-home.

Alright, so let's start with the easy part and that is the butt of the word - Maa. I've had an online alias for a long time, and it's been Maalin and therefor the two a's at the end of this blog. Now the second part:


Dogma -  is a principle or set of principles laid down by an authority as incontrovertibly true. It serves as part of the primary basis of an ideology or belief system, and it cannot be changed or discarded without affecting the very system's paradigm, or the ideology itself.

My deal with the choosing of my name has a lot to do with the above and I will try to explain why. The dogworld is a big one and currently its fluctuating with about a million different methods when it comes to dogs; how you treat them, behave around them and with them, how you train them. Why how and when to deal with aggression and behavioral-issues. There's not only a single method or series of principles with dogs, there are about a hundred and while that is a good thing, all of us connected to dogs in any shape, way or form, lack one important thing. And that's an ideology and moral that we can all stand for. We are missing a unity in the most basic of forms. That's why I named my blog DogMaa, because I want to be a part of forming the future dogma for everyone within distance of a dog, working with dogs or owning a dog. We are ALL the authority here and we just need to come together under the flag of the ship, and the thing I think everyone wants with their dog - a good relationship.



Without this core and foundation, we can't move on, unless we do it by force and that spells out badly for everyone.


Think about it.

Working in a doggy daycare, I've had time to think about this a lot. Every time I find myself in a situation where I get annoyed or feel like strangling a dog (hey, we're only human) I remind myself that this is not my dog but even more importantly, I ask myself every time what kind of relationship do I want with this dog? A good one, is always the answer. It makes me think twice about what I am doing in that very moment and if I should be doing it in the first place, meaning I pick my moments with the dogs.
It's harder to step to the side when you're out walking with a dog but instead of doing that tug or yank on the leash or tell them in a displeased voice that they did something you didn't like--but you always have the choice to show the dog what you want instead. Everything boils down to what kind of relationship you do want with the dog.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    26-year old dog-handler with a burning passion and interest for the relationship between humans and four-legged friends.

    “A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” 
    - Josh Billings

    Archives

    November 2013