Today I received one of the best gifts I can get as a dog-handler. 

Although before I get to the good stuff I'm going to need to give you guys a little bit of background. At work, we have a little terrier. He's pretty great with dogs, but people? He doesn't really like people, this little guy. Or, he doesn't like people that gets too close, that goes too far into his personal bubble. He happens to be one of those dogs that needs a REALLY big bubble but sadly a lot of people don't understand this. I was one of those people. 

Back when I started at my job, I introduced myself pretty badly to this dog. I was probably too close from the start as well. He carries a lot of insecurities, so meetings with dogs and people is often less than fun for him and he releases the frustration that builds from that insecurity in the shape of barks, lots of barks and stress. In April, I was new and I had an ideology with me that wasn't working very well and I ended up getting bit (guess where that ideology came from). From there on I didn't handle this dog for a while. After the summer holidays we took in an IMMI instructor, who helped us and gave us some tools, among those a form of licking treat. The licking is a great way to relax a stressed mind, the motion of the licking is an instant soothing effect that travels from the muscles of the jaw and directly to the brain. So, that worked really well.

By now I had started to started to think about what I was really doing and what kind of ideology that would work for me and the dogs, all the way through. The terrier responded well to my changed ways and felt alright walking with me. With the licking treat we also formed a small band, which only grew when we started working on balance training, and this for the very reason to help him get better self-confidence. 

It's November, and almost December. This dog now chooses to sit in my lap and sniff my face and his tail curls so nicely across his back when we train things enjoys. The past month, we have added tricks and tinkering to his walks that have seemed to help as well. Distance is now a reoccurring reward for not barking, which he loves. The climb has been slow but steady although today something great happened. It showed me that I'm doing the right thin and in the right ways and that it's never too late to make amends and try something new. I think a lot of us instinctively tightens our leash if we know we're about to get into a difficult situation. Me, for one, thought I was helping this dog after stressful situations by shortening the leash and keeping him close and 'safe' as I thought. I tried something new yesterday. No short leash, MORE leash.

I didn't allow myself to pre-build the scenario in my head, but only stayed with loose leash and let him look. Then we walked away. This occurred several time and always very successful. One time there were even 'traffic' from both sides. Today, I did the same thing. Longer leash in general, mixed with contact exercises and rewards for spontaneous contact. Almost back at the daycare, on a lawn he darted forward and grabbed a stick saying

PLAY WITH ME.

He ran around me in circles and it gave me goosebumps. He invited me to play. Which normally does not happen! I cannot describe the feeling but after all those months of work and rebuilding of our bond. Feels awesome. 

Best. Thing. Ever.






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    26-year old dog-handler with a burning passion and interest for the relationship between humans and four-legged friends.

    “A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” 
    - Josh Billings

    Archives

    November 2013