So, this topic has been growing in me for quite some time. 

It's a widely popular topic across the world, especially for us with an interest in dogs and as owners. With, good reasons, as he is probably the most watched dog expert (even if self-proclaimed) on TV, across the world, which is both good and bad.

First off though, I'm not going to go all Hate On Me. I will not put down in all caps how much I hate Cesar Millan and how I would like for the fires of heaven purge him from this world. Because, believe it or not, I don't hate Cesar Millan (a lot people think so when I say that I oppose his methods) and even more importantly, I'm not going to get anywhere and I'm not going to inspire a change anyone in with that approach. So the first part of this blog post is dedicated to my fellow dog-lovers in whatever shape you come, all of you that believe in positive reinforcement and communication - don't go hating.

I do understand that it's easy to get angry with people (I got upset today for example, saw a young girl hanging her Chihuahua about a feet up in the air because it was barking at us, and when it didn't stop she pushed him down on the side) seeing a dog being treated a certain way, no matter where the method or treatment originated from. It's immensely important that we keep in mind that somewhere along the line, we are all beginners and we all started out somewhere. Inspiration and motivation can from all kinds of places, as well as knowledge. I'm a certain that nearly a 97% of the people that actually do practice what Cesar Millan teaches, aren't bad people. They aren't purposefully being mean nor are their goal is to actually bring the dog pain and/or discomfort. They just don't know better and to be able to initiate innovation as well as thought-processes we have to offer alternatives instead of being criticizing and domineering. Hell, I was not too long ago one of those people.

So let's be positively reinforcing about positive reinforcement.

There's always going to be the kind of people where the message doesn't sink in. There's going to be people who will really appreciate more information and knowledge. Just remember that we can't control people and we can't force them to change, instead be the change you want to see in the world.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    26-year old dog-handler with a burning passion and interest for the relationship between humans and four-legged friends.

    “A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” 
    - Josh Billings

    Archives

    November 2013