There are so many things that I want to put into this blog, as much for my own benefit as for everyone else out there. I find myself thinking about interesting and inspiring topics and end up blending them all together until I'm not sure where I started or where I want to end. Today, though, I decided that I wanted to talk about dog-meetings, a though topic that sometimes means a lot of issues for some owners as well as people.

The title is a line that I have heard from my father-in-law, and I wanted to use that line because I think it's great. He does, in my belief, what I think a lot of us wishes all people could do. He uses this phrase upon seeing a dog he'd like to greet, politely asking permission. It's a wonderful thing I think and a trait more people should use. I'm going to go into the reason why very soon as well, because why you have to ask permission to greet a dog isn't always clear to everyone, and that goes for people without dogs and people with dogs. 
Picture
Violet says hi!
But, don't all dogs want to say hi? Actually, the truth is a simple no. In today's society, we constantly fill our conscious with imagery, sounds, interactions, musts and dos and don'ts. Some people thrive under the constant movement and excitement but it's a very rare occasion when a dogs do. Together with this and an altered misconception about what a dog should be about and should do and want to do, we can meet a lot of dogs that finds greetings with both people and dogs very stressful. So no, not all dogs want to say hi. In fact, I have a perfect example with this at my work, where the distance given between him and people is a reward. But I love dogs so much! I'm happy to hear you love dogs, I do too. But that also means that I as a knowing adult gives the dog the respect it needs and deserves. So if you really want to say hi to a dog, ask the owner first, because there could be a lot of reasons why you shouldn't and I will mention some of them and they go for everyone, with or without dog. 

  1. Training - It's very possible that a dog you meet are doing some form of training. It's very rude to just walk up and interrupt!
  2. Insecurity and fear - I find that this is the most common reason as to why you shouldn't just walk up to a dog. The reaction could be poorly. 
  3. Aggression -  Often based in nr 2, this type of reason almost seems clear to me. 
  4. Dog's not interested -  that's right, not all dogs are interested in greeting you, or you and your dog. Dogs are individuals, and they possess traits just like any humans. Some of us don't like the company of others. Same with dogs!


The bottom line here is politeness, towards dogs and its owners. Not all dogs should greet, not all dog want to greet and not every dog is allowed to and this all for different reasons. I've just mentioned a very few of them here, there are surely more but please, think twice before you let your dog up to another dog, or yourself for that matter. Be polite, ask first. It doesn't matter if your dog is the nicest one on the planet, so don't get offended if people tells you no. Their looking after the need of THEIR dog and you should be respectful of that. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    26-year old dog-handler with a burning passion and interest for the relationship between humans and four-legged friends.

    “A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” 
    - Josh Billings

    Archives

    November 2013